top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecca Archibald

EXHIBIT 1: DARE MIGHTY THINGS

Updated: Apr 22, 2021

Background:


As I was thinking about my creation this week, I wanted to do something with Utah State University. I am a business student at the Huntsman School of Business, and one of our mottos is Dare Mighty Things. I think it would be an interesting graphic to display in the business building. I would do a photo of the business building, but I decided to focus on Old Main because it is such a unique building. I decided to incorporate one of my favorite buildings and an impactful motto.


Photoshop:

  • Imported my photo into Photoshop

  • Color corrected the photo in camera raw to brighten up the image.

  • Created a text layer of Dare Mighty Things, rasterized it, and then hid the layer.

  • Added one more layer, selected the vanishing point, and pasted the text layer into the vanishing point.

  • Adjusted the vanishing point as necessary.

  • The color was chosen for the text and added a stroke to make the text stand out.


Design:

  • Colors-I used two different colors within the text to help it stand out. I felt like the blue was essential, so I darkened the mighty. Blue is our school color and I liked the way it stood out against the brick.

  • Typography- I used the font Impact for the text because of the boldness

  • Contrast-I used contrast to draw your eyes to the motto and the A. I used two different blues to add some contrast as well.


Credits:

  • The photo is one that I took

  • Text: Impact from Adobe

  • Motto: Huntsman School of Business at Utah State University



Revision:

  • Placed the A tower in a rule of thirds crop

  • Used camera raw to change the photo lighting



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page