top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecca Archibald

EXHIBIT 7: FILM

Updated: Apr 23, 2021

Background:

This past summer I inherited a vintage film camera from my grandpa. I spent the summer taking pictures of my favorite moments and was ecstatic to view my prints once I filled up the roll of film. I wanted the graphic to look similar to a film strip.

Photoshop:

  • I took the shape tool and created a black rectangle to place the images on.

  • The rectangular marquee tool was used to add a place for the photo

  • I imported my 6 photos into photoshop, selected them one at a time and copied them

  • Pasted the copied image into the marquee area and adjusted as needed

  • I only did the right side film strip first and it felt empty so I added the one on the left to create more visual appeal

  • I added some text and warped it in a wave

  • To add dimension I added a stroke to make the text stand out

  • I grabbed blues from the photos and used it for the text and for the stroke

  • I found an image that I liked for the background and placed it in the back

Design:

  • Colors- The film photos have a blue tone in them so I decided to follow with that and have the text be the same color as well to work together

  • Alignment-The film strips create a line upwards and the text creates a wave between the film strips

  • Repetition-The blues are repeated throughout the image

  • Contrast-The dark blue contrasts against the light blue stroke. There is black and white that create contrast between the background and the film strips

  • Text-I used the font "Keep on Truckin" that I found on Dafont.com

Credits:


Revision:

  • I changed the color overlay on the background image and color dropped the color from one of the images

  • Adjusted the stroke on the image to not blend in with the background



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page